Testbild 1

Droplet Interaction Technologies

GRK 2160/1: DROPIT

Das internationale Graduiertenkolleg (GRK) DROPIT bringt Forscher aus Deutschland und Italien zusammen, um an Themen der Tropfendynamik zu arbeiten.

News

Team und Institute

Das internationale Graduiertenkolleg (GRK) ist eine Kooperation der Universitäten aus Stuttgart, Bergamo und Trento. Das GRK hat etwa 15 Studienleiter. Zurzeit arbeiten 15 Doktoranden, sowie mehrere Postdoktoranden zusammen, um Probleme der Tropfendynamik zu lösen.

Weitere Informationen

Forschung

DROPIT ist eine Forschungsgruppe, Die sich auf die Erforschung der Phänomene der Tropfenwechselwirkung fokussiert. Das Ziel besteht darin zu verstehen, wie mikroskopische Transportprozesse makroskopische Strömungsprozesse  beeinflussen. Dabei wird in drei thematische Forschungsbereiche (TAs) untergliedert: Tropfen-Gas Wechselwirkung (TA-A), Tropfen-Wand Wechselwirkung (TA-B) und Tropfen-Flüssigkeit Wechselwirkung (TA-C). Ein wesentliches Merkmal ist der interdisziplinäre Ansatz, der die synergistische Integration von experimentellen (Röntgen-Mikro-CT, Mikro-PIV), numerischen (DNS, diskontinuierliche Galerkin-Schemata, Direktsimulation Monte Carlo) und analytischen Methoden (Wärme- und Masseaustauschmodelle für die Verdampfung, Wechselwirkungen) vorsieht.

Qualifizierungsprogramme

Das Qualifizierungsprogramm fördert die Entwicklung eines jeden Doktoranden zu einem unabhängigen Forscher. In spezialisierten Kursen wird Wissen zu tropfenbezogenen Themen vermittelt, während Soft-Skill-Kurse die Doktoranden darin schulen, ihre Forschung effektiv durchzuführen und zu präsentieren. Gastwissenschaftler und eine internationale Summer Schoo ergänzen die Kurse.

Weitere Informationen

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Dieses Bild zeigt  Bernhard Weigand
Prof. Dr.-Ing.

Bernhard Weigand

Leitung

Dieses Bild zeigt  Gianpietro Elvio Cossali
Prof. Dr.

Gianpietro Elvio Cossali

Leitung

Zum Seitenanfang

GRK 2160/2: DROPIT

Droplet Interaction Technologies

The International Research Training Group (IRTG) DROPIT brings researchers of Germany and Italy together to work on droplet dynamics.

News

  • Announcement of the 14th edition of the DIPSI Workshop 2022 on Drop Impact Phenomena & Spray Investigations, organised by Università degli Studi di Bergamo on Friday, 1st July 2022, in Bergamo - Città Alta.

Further information

  • DROPIT Summer School 2022 will take place from 9th/10th of June till 30th of June 2022.

Further information

  • AIP Review of Scientific Instruments nominiated the paper for LPSM as Featured Article

AIP Scilight

Team and Institutes

The International Research Training Group (IRTG) DROPIT is a collaboration between the universities of StuttgartBergamo and Trento. The IRTG has fifteen principal investigators. Around 15 doctoral researchers and several postdoctoral researchers are currently working together to solve droplet dynamics problems.

Further Information

Research

DROPIT is a research training group focusing on the study of droplet interaction phenomena. The objective is to understand how micro-scale transport processes affect macroscopic flow properties in three  thematic research  areas (TAs): drop-gas interaction (TA-A), drop-wall interaction (TA-B) and drop-liquid interaction (TA-C). A key feature is the interdisciplinary approach, which envisages the synergic integration of experimental (X-ray micro-CT, micro-PIV), numerical (DNS, discontinuous Galerkin schemes, Direct Simulation Monte Carlo), and analytical methods (heat and mass transfer models for evaporation, interactions).

Further Information

Qualification Programme

The qualification programme fosters the development of each doctoral student into an independent researcher. Specialised courses impart knowledge in droplet-related topics, while soft skill courses train the doctoral researchers to conduct and present their research in an effective way. Visiting researchers and an international summer school complement the courses.

Further Information

Spokesperson

This image shows Bernhard Weigand

Bernhard Weigand

Prof. Dr.-Ing.

Spokesman DROPIT, University of Stuttgart

This image shows Gianpietro Elvio Cossali

Gianpietro Elvio Cossali

Prof. Dr.

Spokesman for University of Bergamo

To the top of the page